Tutorial: Blue, Blue, Blue!

Quick confession: I love to watch beauty videos on Youtube, and I’ve been following some hardliners for ages, however, that is a post for another day. What I do want to tell you, is that I watched this little video and I was utterly inspired to recreate something similar!

This look was also inspired by a recent Snapchat filter, but I couldn’t find it again. It was one where you could choose your eyeshadow and lipstick colors, so I came down with this combo and thought that I should do something similar on the blog, so yeah!

Blue eyes and blue lips? It’s gonna get cray cray!

34048018065_1e093fe59b_k_d
Color used: Nars Outremer Eyeshadow. 

1. There is no surprise that my favorite eyeshadow color is the one used above. It is something alike a cobalt, but at the same time, it is a dark, yet electric blue. I love it for its complexity, but I hate it because of its powdery texture. If you own this, the wisest thing to do would be to use a very creamy base and sandwich the color layer by layer. Repeat until you achieve the intensity you want.

34007355206_7d1f1c353f_k_d
Colors used: Inglot 63 AMC (Black) and Inglot 51 AMC (Orange)

2. Blend a mixture of black and orange into your natural crease. Using only black will create a dark, smokey look that would swallow the brightness of the blue, so I toned it down with some orange that will make the blue pop even more while warming up the look a notch.

34048018695_626632bc90_k_d
Colors used: Innisfree Auto Eyebrow Pencil, L’Oreal False Lash Butterfly Mascara, Nars Outremer (Lower lashline), MAC Soft Ochre Paintpot + Inglot 51 AMC (Lower waterline)

3: Layer on the same blue used on the lids on the lower lashline. Then, apply a thin layer of a skin-like color onto the lower waterline and top it off with the orange used in the crease. This will create a fleshlike, yet darker feel to the waterline, enlarging the look of your eye while not being too stark in difference.

Define your brows and apply mascara as per your preferences.

34007355796_25d7405121_k_d
Colors used: MAC Soft Ochre Paintpot + Madness from Urban Decay Vice 2 Palette, Nars Outremer

4: Here comes the fun part! Completely cover your lips with any creamy product you desire, then cover that with a metallic, sparkly blue if your choice. If you want to add more drama, then use the blue all the way from Step 1 to line the outer perimeter of your lips. This will also give your lips more dimension.

34007355556_ad7bf4d980_k_d

5: I just gave my face a light dusting of face powder to sort out any unevenness. This was also done to ensure that the eyes and the lips stand out equally without making myself look too OTT.

I wholly enjoyed this look, really. It was a bit playful, and it was cool at the same time. For me, it took a bit of time and patience due to the nature of the colors used, and I am extremely proud of how this turned out. [Pssst: Da Boy was too!]

Leave a Reply

