Sometimes, all it takes is a tag! Tutorial: Retro-glam meets metallic lips!

When you’ve got to where I am in life, you start amassing a collection of friends of various ages and creeds. But I think to all of my friends, I’ll forever be the emo girl with pyromaniac tendencies who loves makeup and shoes, and it’s a label I proudly own.

giphy

Thus, Ice (from my PGHK family) tagged me in one of them Facebook videos, I felt like I had to recreate something, or at least create a look that sits along the lines of that video’s premise.

giphy1
You said it, Kuzco!

Now, for all of you crazy cats that prefer a more traditional look, I have cooked up something along the lines of retro-glam, as close as Old Hollywood as I can muster. Gold eyeshadow wrapped with gunmetals and browns, complete with false lashes and a red lip, which is quite a nice look for a night out (or if you’re headed to a glam brunch!).

Let’s start, shall we?

34043848801_ecdb4d294d_z_d
Color used: Urban Decay Naked Palette‘s Half Baked

1. Apply your favorite gold eyeshadow all over the mobile part of your eyelid.

33790045250_ef16aa9d74_z_d
Color Used: Urban Decay Naked Palette’s Gunmetal

2. Wrap a gunmetal-grey color around the gold, stopping halfway on the upper edges. This will give the eyes some subtle definition and a hint of darkness on the outer V.

34043849221_3033b25fea_z_d
Color used: Urban Decay Naked Palette’s Buck

3. Swirl in a matte, cool brown into the crease in circular motions, blending in the gunmetal and the gold. Also, apply the gunmetal color onto the lower lash line, stopping 3/4 of the way in, leaving the inner 1/4 of the lower lash line for the gold. Apply some brown eyeliner onto the upper and lower lash lines.

33790045900_cc9da7f0c2_z_d
Colors used: Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade in Auburn

4. Complete the eyes by defining your brows however you’re comfortable with and adding a set of false lashes.

[NOTE: It is easier to do your eyebrows before putting on your falsies. I learned that the hard way].

 

34174657685_c813cb1d26_z_d
Color Used: Cathy Doll Geisha Hanazakari Lip Matte in Wine Orchid

5. Fill the lips in with your favorite red! I chose this because it was a deep sort of red, but the texture of the product was actually thin.

33790046860_3edb53a7a0_z_d
Colors Used: Nars Desire Blush, The Balm Mary Lou-manizer, MAC Refined Golden Bronzer, MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in Medium Deep

6. I went all out for the face! Usually, I would not bother with any base for the blog, as I won’t be wearing the looks out anyway, but this time, I did a light dusting of my usual face powder to even out the skin. Next, I sucked in my cheeks and brushed a little bronzer into the hollows of my cheeks and blended a bit of blush onto the apples of my cheeks.

Next, of course, is highlight, and oh highlight I did. Not only did I place an insane amount on the tops of my cheekbones (I think around 3-4 layers), I also wet my brush with a bit of mixing medium at the last layer to make it all the more prominent.

[Honestly though, I don’t get why people would want so much highlighter on their faces, it looks so chunky in real life!]

giphy2

34174658475_c2a049784e_z_d
Colors Used: MAC Rose and Violet Pigment

7. Now, this is where the fun begins! I patted a rose-colored pigment all over the top lip and a violet one on the bottom lip for some added flair! Of course, the products used in the video I was tagged in were actually glitter, but as I do not own any cosmetic glitter currently, I had to stick with the only two pigments I own here (I have more back home in Malaysia).

34017432522_a72ae887c3_z_d

Strangely, if you look from afar, the lips sort of look like ombre lips, no?

There you have it, I had great fun making this post! Also, did you notice that the pictures got smaller? What do you think about the change? Oh yes, I learned to add gifs too, yay!

Until next time, then!

 

 

Leave a Reply

