Oh Wow, It’s a Haul! (featuring Colourpop)

One thing that I must note is that despite being educated in the Queen’s English growing up, and being in a Commonwealth country (Aussieland), I have absolutely NO LIKING for the British mode of spelling certain words (except for the word grey, don’t ask me why, it just is). I think I was lazy growing up and thus, I always preferred the mode with the easiest way to spell a word (seriously, I’d go with airplane any day over aeroplane). Thus, it is not a surprised that I always end up with blanks when I type in “Colorpop” in Google.

[Note: In case you wanted to know why, Colourpop gives an answer on why it’s an American company, yet spells its brand name with an extra o]

I was always curious about Colourpop, but due to the exorbitant shipping fees and the high minimum purchase to qualify for free international shipping (USD 50), I didn’t really have a chance to try it out. However, there was a day when they had an offer for shipping (I think they reduced the minimum purchase for free international shipping) and I was like WOOP WOOP and jumped in on the bandwagon.

Also, for the purposes of memory and having backups of my absolute favorite colors, most of the things I got are dupes of what I currently own or used to own. These are colours that I naturally gravitate towards but have not repurchased, nor would it make sense to purchase an expensive version of from a more upmarket brand. Do you know what I mean?

Thus, about 10 days later, I received my Colourpop box which looked like this!

33718943853_9a1c1a2af5_z_d
What I bought: Two eyeshadows, a highlighter, a blush, a brow gel and a lipstick with a GWP blending brush

They came in a foam-filled box with loud, festive colors (see what I did there?) and I was so excited to finally be able to have my own Colourpop bits!

Let me show them to you one by one!

34143818310_1a79918c8f_z_d
Super Shock Shadow in Luckfully

This is Luckfully, and I got it because it looked like Nars’ Outremer, which is a darkened cobalt blue, which it kind of was, albeit with a lot more shimmer. The shimmer was kind of negligible under certain lighting, but it was pretty much gorgeous for me. Colourpop called this a satin finish and I would agree with it.

34143817570_91f69945e1_z_d
Super Shock Shadow in Lace

Lace, on the other hand, is described as a deep violet. This is a replacement for my dearly beloved Nars Daphne, which has hit pan already. Lace and Daphne are almost similar, where Lace is more satin than Daphne is matte.

Yes, I got both of these eyeshadows to replace my Nars favorites because sometimes, they are hard to fiddle with, especially in the mornings.

Let’s talk texture!

Colourpop’s Super Shock formula is unlike anything that I have ever used! They’re creamy and bouncy (I love that boing boing, toing toing feel so much!) However, that does not mean that they are greasy and are prone to crease at all! Oh no siree! Instead, they set and once they set, they’re not going anywhere!

The best way to apply anything Super Shock is with your fingers, but I think you can do well with synthetic brushes if you want.

One thing I realized is that you need to layer the colors if you want them to appear BOOM IN YOUR FACE-like. It’s all up to preference, but it is a thing to note.

34529444455_bdd4fac3b9_z_d
Brow Colour in Dope Taupe

I got their brow gel just to try it out, and partly because as my hair is no longer reddish, I need a brow product that is more neutral to fit my ever-changing hair colours, and since it was not too expensive, I decided to give it a go!

I am happy to report that Dope Taupe is quite on par with my Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade in Auburn, formula-wise. It stays on long enough and it gives my eyebrows the definition they need, which is all it needs to do!

34143803270_d4f3b6ae3d_z_d
I am wearing Dope Taupe on the brows, Lace on the upper lash line and Luckfully on the lower waterline.

This is how I would usually wear my Nars Daphne and Outremer, which is how I’m wearing Lace and Luckfully. Sometimes I’ll wear the blue on the upper lash line and the purple on the water line hehehehe!

Next, we have the face products.

33686596594_a758f60ff1_z_d
Super Shock Blush in Get Leid

Get Leid is a matte peachy-orange which reminds me of MAC’s Peaches blush. I love Peaches and I used it for years until I actually ran out of it years ago. MAC’s Peaches is way sheerer, but you definitely can apply a pigmented blush in a sheer way.

34529442875_2220c1e8eb_z_d
Super Shock Highlighter in Wisp

Wisp was touted to be a dupe for Becca’s Champagne Pop or Opal after I roamed about the Internet and thus, I decided to try it to see if it was true. I would say it is closer to Opal. It was more pigmented and glow-y than the Balm’s Mary-lou Manizer, that’s for sure.

Like the Super Shock Shadows, applying them with your fingers are your best bet. I recommend dotting the blush onto the apples of your cheeks with your fingers and then blending with a brush and just using your fingers with the highligher.

34143816830_0209cd7f7f_z_d
Wearing Get Leid and Wisp on my cheeks.

LOOKIT THAT HIGHLIGHT THO. I have never seen such a blinding highlight with such ease with application in my life. I think I finally understand why some people are crazy over insanely copious amounts of highlighter now.

Right, we have the last one. Whew.

34529438685_ed5ec42c06_z_d
Lippie Stix in Chi Chi

I took a good look at the liquid lipsticks and I was like meh. Thus, I tried looking at the traditional lipsticks, named Lippie Stix and I was like OOOO.

I know, I don’t possibly have a color that I’ve not yet had barring straight purples, blues and greens, but this is a matte orange. Matte oranges are hard to find, because they’ll usually have red or peach tones, and this one is just perfect!

34529435455_8e5b019bf4_z_d

It looked a teensy bit patchy on the lower lip, but this is usually how traditional matte lipsticks are. I was surprised by how long it lasted, though. It managed 5 hours with some tea-drinking, but half was gone after an instant noodle dinner, which is normal for me.

Here is a picture containing all of the swatches of the products above (except Dope Taupe), just before we move on to the wear-time.

33718946823_332377f351_z_d
From left: Wisp, Luckfully, Lace, Chi Chi and Get Leid
34529436595_60d4dc5ee0_z_d
Look at that highlight in the sunlight!

This was me with the entire face freshly applied. I curled my hair as well, because I’m growing my hair out and my hair tends to be wavy and disobedient when it is long, so I didn’t want to fight with my hair’s natural texture.

34143807290_fce443b5b1_z_d
STILL LOOK INGAT THAT HIGHLIGHT

5 hours later, the eye color has not drooped all the way to my dark circles, the highlight was still there, but the blush had disappeared a tiny bit, but I don’t mind. I went through a little grocery shopping, generally shopping and a little nap after, and it has not moved an inch, which is absolutely amazing for the price.

Thus, you can see that when Colourpop products set, they SET. I would definitely love to try more of their stuff in the future.

So tell me, what do you love about Colourpop? Did you miss me? I was swamped by uni work, which is basically why I’ve not been posting at all. I’ve hit a small little plateau of work where I can catch my breath for the moment, which makes me so happy!

Until next time, see ya!

Leave a Reply

