It pays to be a cheapskate! Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Prague, Seoul and Milan.

Let me tell you a little story. This story started around Christmas 2016. I was here in Melbourne, spending the holidays with my family. You see, my family and I were walking around the malls, cooling off from the summer heat when BOOM I walked into a pharmacy/drugstore with lots of Christmas goodies.

36018303636_73eacd03a9_z_d
This retailed for about AUD19, I think. From left, NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Seoul, Milan and Prague

At that time, the drugstore was selling this 3-pack of Soft Matte Lip Creams for AUD193-pack of Soft Matte Lip Creams for AUD19, and seeing as one usually goes for AUD12, it was a steal, very much of a steal, but I decided that I had a lot of lip products already, and I didn’t need three more, so I didn’t get them.

Fast forward to March 2017, not long after Semester 1 started, and woop, I went into the same drugstore, but it was being sold at AUD14. “Whoooooaaaa,” I thought, that was an even bigger steal. Still, I was on the same page and told myself that I didn’t need more lip products.

Now, just before I headed home to Kuala Lumpur, I went into the same drugstore, and lo and behold I saw the same box for AUD7. Of course I snapped it up.

That is why you must be patient when it comes to buying things. I’m sure Da Boy will be proud of me if and when he sees this post.

Of course, I have had experience with NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams, purely because they have been around for a long, long time now. They are comfortable to wear and are generally transfer-proof unless you are eating. They are not drying too, but are on the thin side where liquid lipsticks are concerned. You can layer them if you so wished, but sometimes, I feel that when I liquid lipstick has a thinner consistency, it will be more comfortable to wear.

This is a beautiful starter liquid lipstick if you are going to venture into this realm, too!

35219852014_37119c230a_z_d
Swatches from left: Prague, Milan and Seoul

As you can see, Prague is a dusty rose, while Milan is brighter but has more yellow tones. Seoul, on the other hand, is a purple with pink tones when worn on the lips. It is not a vampy color at all, which was interesting, seeing how it swatched.

35888401862_b8a9b17759_z_d
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Milan 

As I said, Milan is a dusty, yellow-toned pink. It might have looked to be bright on the swatch, but it was a little My Lips But Better on me, which is a good thing, because every now and then, nudes get a little boring.

35888402142_d1b74b367b_z_d
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Prague

Prague, on the other hand, is darker and redder. It has a slightly different feel than Milan, no? This one is a bit bolder, but at the same time, it has a gravitas about it. It says I MEAN BUSINESS as a lipstick, or maybe I’m just seeing things.

35250605953_2e5098fe76_z_d

I think one would wear Milan as a normal everyday lipstick while one would wear Prague when they want people to know that they’re wearing lipstick. The warpaint is on, HEAR ME ROAR.

35250606143_1dd2696056_z_d
NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Seoul

Seoul is a color that you wear when you want to catch a certain oppa’s (Korean for older brother, but it can mean one’s boyfriend, who is usually older than the girlfriend in Korea) attention but you know that he doesn’t like colors that are too loud, but you still want to stand out.

[NOTE: Please do not do that. Please never, ever, ever change your style for anyone. Not even if your oppa wants you to. If he forces you to, you can always get a new oppa]

As you can see, it IS a purple, there’s no denying that it is not purple, but at the same time, the color just sinks into your natural lip color, giving you that little kick that is oh, so playful.

35250607403_ace1235171_z_d

While Prague has gravitas, Seoul is more playful. I would wear it for a fun night out, or day out.

Thus, as you can see, these Soft Matte Lip Creams by NYX are wonderful, but they still lack the punch which I sometimes crave. That being said, you can always use these as training wheels for your foray into the world of liquid lipsticks. NYX itself has many lines of them if you are keen to try!

What is your favorite NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream? What do you think about these colors? Tell me in the comments section below!

 

Leave a Reply

